Brief History

The Department of Biochemistry was established on Senate approval for the honours degree programme on March 26, 1971. Department was carved out of the Department of Chemistry on 1stJuly, 1971. The commencement of honours degree in Biochemistry in this University was authorized by Senate with effect from 1971-72 academic year. A total of fourteen (14) students were admitted into the Department as the first batch of students for the 1971-1972 academic session. The pioneer students arrived the campus for the academic exercise in September, 1971. The Department had as its first set of academic staff: Dr. A. U. Ogan (Pioneer Head of Department), Mr. E. O. Anosike, Dr. Ugochukwu, Dr. I. C. Ononogbu, Dr. M. O. Eze and Mr. Eddy Mbadiwe. The young lecturers later left the country to further their academic career outside the country with people like Emmanuel Anosike and Eddy Mbadiwe going to England to commence their postgraduate programme.

Contact Us

Call Us


E-Mail Us